









WORKSHOP/CONGRESS

Interdisciplinary R&D cooperation between Iceland and Greece

- ongoing studies and future potentials -

When:

Tuesday, 10 October 2023 **Where:** University of Iceland, Main building, 2. Floor, room A 220

Tuesday, 10 October 2023		
Time	Content	Moderators / Presenters
13:00-13:15	Welcome and presentation of the workshop concept	Dr. Halldór P. Halldórsson Dr. Eleni G. Papazoglou Prof. Jörundur Svavarsson
13:15-13:30	Presentation of the University of Iceland	Prof. Sigurður M. Garðarsson Dean of School of Engineering and Natural Sciences
13:30-13:45	Presentation of the Agricultural University of Athens	Prof. Thomas Bartzanas Vice Rector of AUA
13.45-14:05	WATER MANAGEMENT PROGRAMME, EUROPEAN ECONOMIC AREA FINANCIAL MECHANISM 2014-2021 (EEA FM 2014-2021)	Dr. Chrysoula Kourteli Head of Program Operator for the Water Management- Programme
		Fotini Patramani (MSc), Executive Officer, UNIT B1' of Program Operator for the Water Management- Programme
14:05-14:20	The EEA grants	Kolfinna Tómasdóttir The Icelandic Centre for Research
14:20-14:40	Coffee break	
14:40-15:00	Installation of green desalination unit at Kimolos Island with integrated innovative technology of brine treatment-BriZE project	Ass. Prof. Dimitris Manolakos AUA
15:00-15:15	Chemistry of Icelandic natural waters	Prof. Andri Stefánsson University of Iceland
15:15-15:30	The Hellenic Orogenic Arc: Geothermy, Tectonic Geomorphology and Geohazards	Prof. Ioannis Papanikolaou AUA

Tuesday, 10 October 2023

15:30-15:45	Out to sea for science	Dr. Bryndís Brandsdóttir University of Iceland
15:45-16:00	Coffee break	
16:00-16:30	Interdisciplinary Research and Innovation activities of the AUA team (brief presentation of recent and on- going projects)	Dr. Apostolos Gkountas Dr. Eleni G. Papazoglou Prof. Thomas Bartzanas Prof. Ioannis Papanikolaou
16:30-16:45	Monitoring marine pollution in Iceland: case studies	Dr. Halldór P. Halldórsson Research Centre in Suðurnes, University of Iceland
16:45-17:00	Summary and closing remarks	Dr. Halldór P. Halldórsson. Dr. Eleni G. Papazoglou Prof. Jörundur Svavarsson